California Campus Compact's 25th Anniversary Video

Watch California Campus's Compact's 25th Anniversary video which illustrates who we are and what we do!

History of Campus Compact and California Campus Compact

California Campus Compact is part of the national Campus Compact network. While the state and national Compacts are formally affiliated and share a fundamental commitment to integrating civic and community engagement into campus and academic life, each organization operates independently, developing programs and priorities in response to its distinctive context.

The national office of Campus Compact was founded in 1985 by the presidents of Brown University (Howard Swearer), Georgetown University (Timothy Healy, S.J.) and Stanford University (Donald Kennedy), and the president of the Education Commission of the States (Frank Newman). In the mid-1980s, the media portrayed college students as materialistic and self-absorbed, more interested in making money than in helping their neighbors. The founding presidents of Campus Compact believed this public image was false; they noted many students on their campuses who were involved in community service and believed many others would follow suit with the proper encouragement and supportive structures. Campus Compact began with the goal of attracting 100 member campuses. Currently, there are more than 700 member campuses nationally. They are supported by 16 state and regional Compact offices nationwide, including California Campus Compact.

In 1988, California Campus Compact became one of the first two state Campus Compact offices formed (Pennsylvania was the other) to provide member campuses with local, state and regional support. Charles Young, who was then chancellor of the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), and Donald Kennedy, who was then president of Stanford University, led the group that founded California Campus Compact. California Campus Compact began with 17 member campuses at its inception, and has over 40 member campuses as of this writing.

Host Institution

From its founding in 1988 through 1995, California Campus Compact was hosted at UCLA by then-Chancellor Charles Young. In 1996, with the retirement of Chancellor Young, the Executive Board of California Campus Compact approved a change in host institutions from UCLA to San Francisco State University. San Francisco State University, under the leadership of President Robert A. Corrigan, continued as the host institution for California Campus Compact until his retirement. In 2013, CACC was hosted by Sofia University, and then in January 2014, moved to California State University, East Bay, under President Leroy Morishita.


Between 1988 and 2000, there have been six executive directors of California Campus Compact. In September 2000, Elaine Ikeda was hired as the seventh executive director of California Campus Compact. She continues to hold the position and is the longest-serving executive director of California Campus Compact.

From 1996 through March 2004, San Francisco State University President Robert A. Corrigan served as the chair of the Executive Board of California Campus Compact. From April 2004 through June 2010, California State University, Channel Islands President Richard R. Rush served as chair of the Executive Board of California Campus Compact. From July 2010-2015, University of San Francisco President Stephen A. Privett. S.J., served as chair. From July 2015-June 2020, California State University, East Bay President Leroy Morishita served as chair. In July 2020, San Jose State University President Mary Papazian began serving as the chair of the Board.